Fabrics&Lists

I have looked at SO much stuff today, that I could write an epic blog post and list every piece of fabric, every  epic upholstery job I have seen, and I still couldn’t tell you what I have planned for them in my mind. I have a very CLEAR image in my mind of what I want to create, but I will have to wait to show you pictures when I start making stuff.

I can’t really sew at the moment. Number one, I haven’t got a sewing desk yet, and I’d happily do it on the floor, but I have a small baby. Not a good idea. I’m also going to have to watch out for dropped pins when I do start.

However, I won’t let the fear of that happening stop me, because I’ll just deal with it when the time comes.

Well.

Here is my ‘fabrics’ post: which I will endeavour to include the Top 10 Fabrics that I have seen today. (Enter, list-mania)

I will only do this when I have an opportunity to sit down and look at fabric online, and I won’t do it every day, but I will do it.

Ten fabrics I would like to do things to, in naughty ways.

10.

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 7.53.35 PM
Holy pineapples, Batman!

9.

Kimono1

Japanese kimono silk, found at The Design Files Australia. Really glad I found this resource!

8.
Twiggy

This little Twiggy went to market.

I’m not sure if it’s fabric, since the link on Pinterest takes me only to the main site, but you can find it here.

7.

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 8.31.16 PM

Mushrooms at The Dainty Squid. Just stupendous.

6.
Japanese

Japanese Vintage Katazome fabric. Mmmm… (I have no idea if it’s upholstering fabric, I just li-li-like it.)

5.

Hippie1

Fabric – Colourful Stardust Pattern.

Imagine this in the kids rooms, giving them all sorts of happy ideas. 🙂

4.
Music1

The things I could do to this piece of cotton linen.

3.
Burlap1

Who knew burlap could be so beautiful?

2.
Tribal1

This is wonderful wonderful fabric. Simple. It is a fabric from the Philippines, finely woven cotton. I would love to do something with a contemporary tribal theme. I am so attracted by reds, blacks and whites. I can’t help it, they look so striking together.

Side note: Reds and blacks, whites are the predominant theme in our house. If you check out my other blog, you will see a spray painting that I have done on canvas, go to: ruth-gallagher@squarespace.com. It is the opening image. It really is amateurish, but you’ll see what I mean. 

1.
Kimono Fabric 2

Pierre at Vintage Japanese Silk on Etsy has been so wonderful to me in my endeavour to get into this. I have had all sorts of questions about whether his beautiful fabric would be suitable for what I’m doing, and he has guided me well without pushing a sale on me straight away. But I will be back, because who could resist such wonderful customer service, and beautiful fabric. I’m not advertising for the man, I’m simply giving credit where credit is due, and I love the above print, so damn bad!

Anyway, that’s it! That’s my contribution for tonight, because I’ve got to go let Toz have the computer.


Leave a Reply

