I’ve been thinking about my new found love for sewing, and I thought, it’s not really a new thing. I’ve always loved sewing and making stuff.

My gran taught me how to sew. She taught me how to hand sew. I was about 10 or 11 years old.

I remember this so well. I remember sitting with her, sewing a little yellow purse with some buttons on it. She’d just taught me how to do drawstrings, and I was pretty proud. One day, it got a bit late, she had to go home, and I said, “I’ll finish it later and show you next time I see you.”

Then she passed away, very suddenly, from what is long suspected to have been a heart-attack bought on by food poisoning. That was in ’95.

She never got to see my bag. But I gave it to her.

I finished it, I put it on her coffin as they cremated her. She’s buried with that bag that she so lovingly taught me how to create.

Gran

Love ya, Gran. I’ll sew something green for you. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Memories&Sewing

  1. Helen Wearne

    Hi gorgeous, I just read this to your Dad, and it brought a tear to his eye!! Not my intention of course, but it is a lovely memory!!
    Love Mama xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

